Thinking outside the box

A couple weeks ago I received a request for a taab tab pattern using purple and green thread. I was hesitant and a little skeptical, because I have always stuck to more traditional colors, such as red/pink and yellow/orange. As you can see, it turned out real nice, much better than what I had imagined. I showed my mom and she was pretty impressed at how beautifully it turned out. I might just have to make one for myself!

Purple and green taab tab.

Purple and green taab tab.

Below is a mock up of what the taab tab could look like once all the appliqué work is completed. You can get as fancy as you want with the appliqué, or go with a more subdued look. The top row of colorful diamonds is beautiful, but requires more experience and time because all the diamonds are formed and appliquéd by hand. A simpler option is to do a strip of colorful fabric as demonstrated in the second row that can be sewn on by machine.

Example of taab tab with applique work.

Example of taab tab with applique work.

This was a reminder for me to think outside the box. I am constantly learning new things from my followers.

Leave a Reply

