UPDATE: Elephant’s foot

Elephant's Foot outfit, pattern for shirt cuff and front opening.

Elephant’s Foot outfit, pattern for shirt cuff and front opening.

In January, I posted Elephant’s Foot, a pattern used in a sev for a new Hmong outfit my daughter is working on. As promised, pictured above is what I designed for the cuff and front opening of the shirt.

You will see three distinct ‘blocks’ in the picture above. Each ‘block’ is 27 stitches and measures 2 7/8”. The entire piece is 8 blocks long and measures 15 3/4” X 2 1/2”. It uses the same 15-count black cross-stitch fabric, and pink and yellow thread used in the sev.

Elephant's Foot pattern for sev.

Elephant’s Foot pattern for sev.

I felt like the pattern ‘as is’ from the sev was too wide for the shirt, so I created a new pattern using elements from the Elephant’s Foot pattern. I wanted the completed outfit to be cohesive, like the sev and shirt belonged together. In order to do this, it was important to use the same materials previously used. It wasn’t right to introduce new colors or fabric to the outfit at this point. I used the center and corners of each block of the Elephant’s Foot pattern to create this new design.

Stay tuned for the completed Hmong outfit!

6 thoughts on “UPDATE: Elephant’s foot

  1. I love the colors, they remind me of the Hmong clothes my late mother sewed me when I was young, which I no longer have. I was a total ingrate because I was such a tom boy, the colors were too unappealing to me. As an adult my aesthetics have become refined…interesting what age does to a person. Thanks for sharing Nou. I can’t wait to see the completed outfit.

  2. I love the colors and the pattern! I personally do prefer the more traditional look such as this one compared to the super bright and light colors being used today. Beautiful job!

  3. Do you use Aida cloth to make these? If not, what is the cloth and where can it be purchased if there are no kwv Hmoov around? Aida cloth feels stiff.i remember my grandmother’s cloth being softer.

    • Hi Chi, yes, some Aida cloth can be very stiff and difficult to work with in the beginning stages. Aida tends to soften and become more pliable once you’ve really worked it for a while. Still, that can cause sore fingers, especially if you’re working on a pattern using a high thread count. I tend to pick up my fabric by the yard at local swap meets and Hmong fabric stores. If you’re interested, email me at artofhmongembroidery@gmail.com and we can see if arrangements can be made for me to get some and ship to you. Thank you for reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

