Who wants to make a taab tab?

One of my favorite things to cross-stitch is a Taab Tab. It’s a big undertaking, but it truly is the one piece that is so identifiably Hmong. Unfortunately, I don’t see many girls wearing real, hand-made Hmong skirts anymore. The majority of girls who dress in Hmong clothes at New Year celebrations wear pre-printed skirts that are far from traditional and authentic Hmong clothes.

Therefore, here I am again, committing to making another Taab Tab! My dilemma is that I can’t just go and purchase enough fabric to make one Taab Tab. Once all is said and done I will actually end up with more Taab Tabs than I need. I will have at least four to five left over.

If you are interested in making a Taab Tab, I will be selling them at a first-come, first-served basis. The Taab Tab will come to you with a design already started, so you don’t have to figure out your own design, and all the thread you will need to complete it. Please send me a message if you are interested.

24 thoughts on “Who wants to make a taab tab?

    • Hi Shua!

      Thank you for your interest in making a taab tab! I am still working on getting all the thread together. Once I have the entire kit put together I will touch base with you again with a price to see if you are still interested.

      Have you make a taab tab before?

    • Hi Kia,

      Thank you for your interest in making a taab tab! I am still trying to get enough thread together to complete an entire kit. Once I get that done I will send you pricing information to see if you are still interested.

      Have you made a taab tab before?

    • Hi thanks for visiting my blog! It’s not too late to get this item, I will add you to my list. I haven’t shipped anything yet because I have to purchase enough thread at one time in order for the swatches to match and I’ve had a difficult time doing that! As soon as the orders are ready I will message you a price and request for shipping info. Thanks!

  1. Me TOOOOO! I also have never sewn one but I can learn with instructions if you can provide it (I’m currently teaching myself cross stitching). Please let me know the pricing, if you’ll be providing instructions, etc. BTW, I LOVE your website! Keep up the good work.

    • Blia, I am so happy to hear that you are teaching yourself cross-stitching! Please let me know if I can be of any help. Don’t get discouraged and if you need some ideas I will be more than happy to share some designs/patterns I have used in the past. You are on my list for Taab Tabs! I will be in touch soon with the cost and to get your contact information for shipping.

      • Yay! Thank you for offering your help; I’ll probably need it since I don’t know anyone who can teach me paj ntaub. I went to the Sacramento New Year and didn’t find anything I like so now I’m dead set on this project! And thanks for encouragement; I’ll need it. =)
        I’ll be on stand-by for the info & I’ll let you know if I need help!

  2. Aaw… it’s too late to say I want one! I look forward to learning how to make such things so I can teach my future daughters!

  3. Hi Nou. This is a one-of-a-kind blog. What a wonderful idea. Thank you for helping to keep this tradition alive. Do you have any materials left? I’m interested.

    • Thank you Kathy! I sure do try my hardest to keep the reading interesting, but I know this is a very niche blog. Yes, I still have Taab Tabs available. I will email you the details. Thank you for reading my blog, feel free to share with your friends and family!

  4. Hi Nou,
    I’ve been searching for the longest and finally landed on a site I like! 😀 From what I’ve read above, a taab tab is a hmong skirt? Do you mind showing me an example of the kind of skirt you’re referring to? I too would loveee to get my hand on one I can make myself, if you have more material left?? If you don’t mind, would you email me with more details?

  5. Hi I somehow stumble upon your page and saw this post about the Hmong skirt. I’ve been wanting to learn how to make one. Do you by any chance still have any left? Thank you!

  6. Hello, I stumble upon you blog and saw your Taab tab tutorial. I would love to learn to make one. It reminds me of the good old days when my grandmother taught me to cross stitch. Do you by any chance still have any left? Thank you so very much!

Leave a Reply

